Benefit Money

Home›Household Support Fund›Councils›Kent

Kent: Household Support Fund & Crisis and Resilience Fund

What Kent’s local crisis scheme covers, how to apply, and whether it was open when we checked.

Written by the benefitmoney.co.uk editorial team · Last reviewed 14 September 2026

Kent County Council runs its local crisis help as the Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF). It is a grant — not a loan: help with essentials, nothing to repay. This is a summary; Kent’s own page (linked below) is the authority and the current position.

What Kent’s scheme covers

Covers: food energy housing

Covers
Crisis payments for financial shocks (redundancy, bereavement, domestic abuse, property damage); heating oil; budgeting advice; housing payments via district councils; holiday activities and food
Status
not stated (confirmed 10 September 2026)
What you get
Usually provided as vouchers for food and fuel
Who qualifies
Aged 16+, permanent Kent resident paying council tax to one of the 12 Kent district authorities (excludes Medway, Bexley, Bromley), on means-tested benefits or with household income of £33,000 or less, facing an urgent emergency need
Decision
Currently experiencing extended processing times due to high application volume
Not covered
Does not cover leisure activities and lifestyle choices, among other general/foreseeable costs
Government allocation
£20,169,772 for 2026-27
Launching in stages across Kent; replaces HSF and DHP

Before you apply

  1. Use the right route. Not specified yet — an 'interim crisis support scheme' is running with the full scheme 'coming soon'; housing payments via your district council
  2. Check it is still open. not stated We confirmed this on 10 September 2026.

Only what Kent states on its own page. Other councils ask for more — see what they have in common.

The 7 district councils in Kent

In Kent the county council runs crisis payments, but your district or borough council runs the housing side of the fund — rent shortfalls, a deposit, rent in advance. Each has its own rules, its own application route and its own government allocation.

What Kent itself says

Quoted from Kent’s own page↗ and its application page↗, checked 14 September 2026. Nothing on this page is paraphrased into a rule the council has not published. The government allocation is from Annex A of the Crisis and Resilience Fund grant determination 2026 to 2027↗.

Apply on Kent’s website

Applications are made on the council’s own site — this page collects nothing. If the link has moved, search the council site for “crisis and resilience”, then “household support”, then “welfare assistance”.

Open the Kent scheme page

Source: Kent County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF). Opened 10 September 2026.

Where this money comes from

Central government funds it; the council sets the rules. A payment does not affect your benefits. How the fund works nationally.

Other help you may qualify for

Not in Kent?

See the other councils we have checked, or find yours via GOV.UK’s Get help with the cost of living from your local council↗.

Outside England the scheme has a different name: the Scottish Welfare Fund in Scotland, the Discretionary Assistance Fund in Wales, and Discretionary Support in Northern Ireland.

Recently checked elsewhere: King's Lynn And West Norfolk, Pendle, Amber Valley — see all 141.

Find your council by postcode

Not in Kent? Enter a postcode and we will point you at the right council’s Crisis and Resilience Fund page.

We look the postcode up with the free postcodes.io service to find your local authority. Nothing you type is stored.

This page is independent. It is not run by Kent County Council, the Department for Work and Pensions or GOV.UK. Council schemes change without notice; the council’s own page is always the current position.