Home›Grants›Household Support Fund›By council
Crisis and Resilience Fund: what 20 councils actually do
The same fund, twenty different doors. What each of England’s largest councils covers, how you apply, and whether it was open when we looked.
Written by the benefitmoney.co.uk editorial team · Last reviewed 9 September 2026
We opened the crisis-support page of the 20 largest councils in England on 9 September 2026. All twenty now call it the Crisis and Resilience Fund. That is the whole list of what they have in common.
Counts from the council pages we opened; 17 of 20 pages loaded in full. Checked 9 September 2026.
What the councils know that GOV.UK does not say
GOV.UK’s Household Support Fund guidance for councils records no funding period after 31 March 2026. The council pages fill in the rest: the Crisis and Resilience Fund is a three-year settlement, 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2029, and most councils say so on the page. Surrey puts it plainly — the last Household Support Fund window “closed in March 2026 when the Household Support Fund 7 funding came to an end” — and then lists its CRF allocation for the year after.
So the term people search for has ended, the money has not, and the new name has already reached every large council. What has not settled is delivery. Six months into the fund:
- Surrey and Derbyshire have no application route open yet — Derbyshire says support “from autumn 2026”.
- Bradford’s crisis payments “will open later in 2026”, though its appliance scheme is taking applications.
- Bristol takes no direct applications at all: vouchers go through schools, and partner charities “will contact you directly”.
- Hampshire runs the fund through Citizens Advice; Essex through Southend City Council; Lancashire and Kent through district councils.
- Newcastle, Liverpool, Manchester, Durham, Cornwall, Leicester, Coventry have an online form on their own site.
The 20 councils
Open a council to see what its scheme covers, how to apply, and what it said about its status on the day we checked. Every entry links to the council’s own page — that page, not this one, is the authority.
Birmingham City Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund 2026 to 2027
- Period
- 2026 to 2027 (from page title)
- Note
- Council site refused our automated request; scheme name and sub-pages ('Check if you qualify and apply', 'Household costs covered') confirmed from the site's own page titles
Scheme name confirmed from the council’s own page title; the page itself did not load for us on 9 September 2026, so the details are not reproduced here.
birmingham.gov.uk↗Leeds City Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Note
- Scheme name confirmed from the site's page title; the older Household Support Fund page still shows 2024-25 content and a Local Welfare Support number, 0113 376 0330
Scheme name confirmed from the council’s own page title; the page itself did not load for us on 9 September 2026, so the details are not reproduced here.
leeds.gov.uk↗Sheffield City Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- CRF Crisis Payments for residents in or at risk of financial crisis; CRF Housing Payments (rent shortfalls, homelessness prevention); Council Tax Hardship Scheme; holiday food vouchers for children; advice and debt services
- How to apply
- Separate online routes: Crisis Payments via a dedicated application page; Housing Payments via the discretionary benefits form
- Status
- not stated
- Period
- 2026 to 2027; £9.97 million allocation
Manchester City Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- Food and essential costs; energy and heating; furniture and essential household items; travel to a new job; housing help via a separate process
- How to apply
- Online form on the Local Welfare Assistance site; phone 0161 234 5678, Mon–Fri 9am–4.30pm
- Status
- not stated
- Note
- Short-term help only, not ongoing support
Bradford Councilpartly open
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- Crisis Payments; Assisted Purchase Scheme (beds, cookers, fridge freezers, microwaves, washing machines); Emergency Fuel Help for prepayment meters; Housing Payments (replaced DHP from 1 April 2026)
- How to apply
- Assisted Purchase Scheme: apply direct. Emergency Fuel Help: referral via partner advice services. Crisis Payments: direct applications 'will open later in 2026'
- Status
- Crisis Payments closed until later in 2026; Assisted Purchase and Fuel Help open
- Period
- Housing Payments from 1 April 2026
- Note
- Page states the CRF 'replaces the Household Support Fund'
Liverpool City Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Food and essentials; gas, electricity or water; clothing and hygiene; essential furniture or appliances; travel; phone or internet; rent shortfalls. Usually vouchers or payments
- How to apply
- Online; freephone 0800 456 1523 or 0151 233 3053, Mon–Fri 8am–6pm; in person at One Stop Shops and Family Hubs
- Status
- not stated
- Period
- CRF Policy 2026 published 27 July 2026
- Note
- No stated limit on applications per year
Bristol City Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- Free school meal vouchers in school holidays (to Summer 2026); food and heating support for care leavers and foster households; grants to partner charities
- How to apply
- No direct applications. Delivered through schools, direct council contact for care leavers, and partner organisations that 'will contact you directly'
- Status
- not stated
- Period
- April 2026 to March 2029; £21.3m
- Note
- No direct application route
Kent County Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Crisis payments for financial shocks (redundancy, bereavement, domestic abuse, property damage); heating oil; budgeting advice; housing payments via district councils; holiday activities and food
- How to apply
- Not specified yet — an 'interim crisis support scheme' is running with the full scheme 'coming soon'; housing payments via your district council
- Status
- not stated
- Note
- Launching in stages across Kent; replaces HSF and DHP
Essex County Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Crisis payments for unexpected expenses or a sudden drop in earnings; housing payments for temporary shortfalls (Housing Benefit or UC housing element required)
- How to apply
- Crisis payments: online via Southend City Council, which administers them for Essex. Housing payments: via your district, city or borough council
- Status
- not stated
- Note
- Administered by Southend City Council
Hampshire County Councilopen
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Food; gas and electricity; housing costs; essential travel; funding to local advice and digital-support organisations
- How to apply
- Apply through Citizens Advice, which runs the fund's portal for Hampshire
- Status
- operating since April 2026
- Period
- Interim scheme from April 2026; 'a longer-term scheme will be announced in Autumn 2026'
- Note
- Savings must be under £6,000
Lancashire County Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Urgent needs — food, essential household items and practical support in a sudden money problem, family emergency or loss of home support
- How to apply
- Through your district council's website or phone line; Family Hubs, schools and health visitors can help you make contact
- Status
- not stated
- Period
- Runs until 31 March 2029
- Note
- Holiday free school meal vouchers are no longer provided under the CRF
Surrey County Councilnot yet open
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- Crisis Payments; Housing Payments; resilience services; community coordination
- How to apply
- No application process yet — the council is 'working through the mechanisms that need to be set up'
- Status
- not yet open; 'the last application window closed in March 2026 when the Household Support Fund 7 funding came to an end'
- Period
- 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2029; £7.1m for March 2026 to April 2027
Hertfordshire County Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- Described as support to 'prevent financial hardship escalating, and build longer-term resilience'; replaces the Household Support Fund
- Status
- not stated
- Note
- Only a news page found; no application details published at the time of checking
Nottinghamshire County Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Note
- The council's Household Support Fund page states it is no longer taking applications and that the HSF ended 31 March 2026
Scheme name confirmed from the council’s own page title; the page itself did not load for us on 9 September 2026, so the details are not reproduced here.
nottinghamshire.gov.uk↗Derbyshire County Councilnot yet open
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Grants for low-income households in hardship; housing payments (replacing DHP from April 2026, via the 8 district and borough councils); heating oil and LPG support
- How to apply
- Not yet specified; the Derbyshire Discretionary Fund is the current crisis route; housing payments via district and borough councils
- Status
- not yet open — support 'from autumn 2026'
- Period
- April 2026 to March 2029
- Note
- Derbyshire Discretionary Fund is a separate existing scheme
Cornwall Councilopen
Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Emergency financial help; essential household costs; support to stay safely in your home; referrals to advice; housing assistance
- How to apply
- Online application form, then the Better Off Calculator shared with an adviser; last two months' bank statements required
- Status
- active from 1 April 2026
- Period
- From 1 April 2026; one-off £100 payment in Autumn 2026 to eligible pensioner households
- Note
- Ineligible if you have received more than £1,500 in crisis support in the last 12 months
Durham County Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- Crisis payments (food, energy, emergencies); heating oil payments when the tank is 30% or lower; settlement grants (beds, furniture, white goods, flooring, curtains, removals); housing payments for rent shortfalls
- How to apply
- Online; housing payments via housing providers
- Status
- not stated
- Period
- 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2029
- Note
- Policy document 'Crisis and Resilience Fund Policy 2026/27' published
Newcastle City Councilopen
The Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)
- Covers
- Crisis Payments (food, energy, transport — cash first); Housing Payments; resilience services; holiday free school meal vouchers
- How to apply
- Online form, or phone 0191 278 7878 (option 3), Mon–Fri 9.30am–3.30pm
- Status
- open — applications from 7 April 2026
- Period
- 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2029
- Note
- Up to 3 crisis payment awards in a 12-month period
Coventry City Councilpartly open
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- Crisis Payment (food parcels, energy and water bills, household items, clothing and bedding, essential travel); Housing Payment (rent, removals, storage)
- How to apply
- Online via the council's My Account portal; help from customer service centres, Citizens Advice and other partners
- Status
- phased — clothing and bedding reopened 21 July, energy bills 3 August; categories may be suspended at short notice
- Period
- Runs until 31 March 2029
- Note
- Previous recipients of clothing or fuel support are ineligible again until stated dates
Leicester City Councilstatus not stated
Crisis and Resilience Fund
- Covers
- One-off payments for a sudden loss of income, difficulty paying rent, unexpected expenses, rent arrears, rental deposits
- How to apply
- Online via MyAccount (account needed); help available if you cannot apply online
- Status
- not stated
- Period
- Available until 31 March 2029
- Note
- Amount depends on circumstances
If your council is not here
- Start from GOV.UK’s Get help with the cost of living from your local council↗ and follow it to your council.
- Search the council site for “crisis and resilience” first, then “household support”, then “welfare assistance”.
- If there is no form, phone and ask for the local welfare or crisis support team. Ask whether the scheme is delivered directly, through a partner, or through your district council — the answer decides where you apply.
We add councils as we open their pages. If yours is missing and you have the link, send it.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Household Support Fund still running?
Under that name, no — councils say the last HSF period ended 31 March 2026. Under its new name, the Crisis and Resilience Fund, most of the 20 largest councils state funding runs to 31 March 2029.
Why does my council say applications are closed?
Six months in, several councils are still setting up. Surrey and Derbyshire have no route open yet; Bradford’s crisis payments open later in 2026. Others open categories in phases, as Coventry does. Check the date on the council page and try again.
My council has no application form.
Some deliver only through partners. Bristol works through schools and charities; Hampshire through Citizens Advice; Essex through Southend City Council; Lancashire and Kent through district councils. The council page names the route.
Does a payment affect my benefits?
No. GOV.UK states that a payment from the Crisis and Resilience Fund will not affect your benefits.
What happened to Discretionary Housing Payments?
In at least Bradford, Derbyshire and Kent, the CRF’s Housing Payments replaced DHP from 1 April 2026. Ask your district council which form to use for a rent shortfall.
How often can I apply?
It varies. Newcastle allows up to three crisis awards in 12 months; Cornwall excludes anyone who has had more than £1,500 of crisis support in the last 12 months; Liverpool states no limit. Read your council’s rule.
Sources
- Birmingham City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund 2026 to 2027↗. Opened 9 September 2026; page did not load, name from the council’s page title.
- Leeds City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026; page did not load, name from the council’s page title.
- Sheffield City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Manchester City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Bradford Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Liverpool City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Bristol City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Kent County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Essex County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Hampshire County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Lancashire County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Surrey County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Hertfordshire County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Nottinghamshire County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026; page did not load, name from the council’s page title.
- Derbyshire County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Cornwall Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Durham County Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Newcastle City Council — The Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF)↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Coventry City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- Leicester City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund↗. Opened 9 September 2026.
- GOV.UK — Get help with the cost of living from your local council↗. Checked 9 September 2026.
This page is independent. It is not run by any local council, the Department for Work and Pensions or GOV.UK. Council schemes change without notice; the council’s own page is always the current position.