Home›Household Support Fund›Councils›Sheffield
Sheffield: Household Support Fund & Crisis and Resilience Fund
What Sheffield’s local crisis scheme covers, how to apply, and whether it was open when we checked.
Written by the benefitmoney.co.uk editorial team · Last reviewed 14 September 2026
Sheffield City Council runs its local crisis help as the Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF). It is a grant — not a loan: help with essentials, nothing to repay. This is a summary; Sheffield’s own page (linked below) is the authority and the current position.
What Sheffield’s scheme covers
Covers: food housing debt vouchers
- Covers
- CRF Crisis Payments for residents in or at risk of financial crisis; CRF Housing Payments (rent shortfalls, homelessness prevention); Council Tax Hardship Scheme; holiday food vouchers for children; advice and debt services
- Status
- not stated (confirmed 10 September 2026)
- Funding period
- 2026 to 2027; £9.97 million allocation
- What you get
- Paid as a non-repayable grant
- Who qualifies
- Must be a Sheffield resident, at least 16 years old, and unable to afford essential items
- How often
- Cannot apply if you have had an award in the last 6 months
- How to apply
- Apply online via the CRF Crisis Payment application form
- You will need
- Usually no evidence required; bank statements may be requested if needed
- Not covered
- Cannot cover debts, mortgage/rent/housing arrears, statutory duties, or white goods
- Government allocation
- £9,970,109 for 2026-27
Before you apply
- Use the right route. Separate online routes: Crisis Payments via a dedicated application page; Housing Payments via the discretionary benefits form
- Check it is still open. not stated We confirmed this on 10 September 2026.
Only what Sheffield states on its own page. Other councils ask for more — see what they have in common.
What Sheffield itself says
- How often. “not have made a previous application within the last 6 months”
- How to apply. “Apply for a CRF Crisis Payment”
- You will need. “In most circumstances, we will not require any evidence from you”
- Not covered. “It cannot be awarded for: payment of debts, mortgage or housing costs, including rent or housing arrears, statutory activities / requirements that either the Council or another public sector organisation is responsible for delivering, white goods”
Quoted from Sheffield’s own page↗ and its application page↗, checked 14 September 2026. Nothing on this page is paraphrased into a rule the council has not published. The government allocation is from Annex A of the Crisis and Resilience Fund grant determination 2026 to 2027↗.
Apply on Sheffield’s website
Applications are made on the council’s own site — this page collects nothing. If the link has moved, search the council site for “crisis and resilience”, then “household support”, then “welfare assistance”.
Open the Sheffield scheme pageSource: Sheffield City Council — Crisis and Resilience Fund (CRF). Opened 10 September 2026.
Where this money comes from
Central government funds it; the council sets the rules. A payment does not affect your benefits. How the fund works nationally.
Other help you may qualify for
- Help with energy bills — grants and supplier schemes.
- Eligibility checker — see what you could be entitled to.
- White-goods grants — a broken fridge, cooker or washing machine.
- Budgeting Advance or Budgeting Loan — interest-free from the DWP.
Not in Sheffield?
See the other councils we have checked, or find yours via GOV.UK’s Get help with the cost of living from your local council↗.
Outside England the scheme has a different name: the Scottish Welfare Fund in Scotland, the Discretionary Assistance Fund in Wales, and Discretionary Support in Northern Ireland.
Recently checked elsewhere: Somerset, Waverley, Gloucester — see all 141.
Find your council by postcode
Not in Sheffield? Enter a postcode and we will point you at the right council’s Crisis and Resilience Fund page.
We look the postcode up with the free postcodes.io service to find your local authority. Nothing you type is stored.
This page is independent. It is not run by Sheffield City Council, the Department for Work and Pensions or GOV.UK. Council schemes change without notice; the council’s own page is always the current position.